BOSTON: Meet Boston’s Most Influential Online Journalists & Bloggers

Media Breakfast

Category:

From:
Friday, May 10, 2013 7:30 am EDT (6:30 am CDT, 5:30 am MDT, 4:30 am PDT)
To:
Friday, May 10, 2013 11:00 am EDT (10:00 am CDT, 9:00 am MDT, 8:00 am PDT)
Duration: 3 Hours, 30 Minutes

Registration Details:

Please register on http://bostonmediabreakfast.eventbrite.com/. This is a FREE event.

Location:

Hilton Garden Inn
420 Totten Pond Rd
Waltham, MA, 02451
United States
See map: Google Maps

Speaker(s):

MODERATOR

Shane O'NeillShane O'NeillAssistant Managing Editor, CIO.com

Shane O'Neill is a technology journalist with 14 years of editorial experience, most notably with news and feature writing, blogging, on-camera analysis, social media and Web content management. As CIO.com Assistant Managing Editor, Shane divides his time between site content strategy, editing and managing writers, and writing about Microsoft and its various products and competitors. His articles have appeared in a variety of publications, including CIO.com, NYTimes.com, PCWorld and Bloomberg Businessweek. Shane came to IDG Enterprise after stints at TechTarget, Ziff Davis Media, AOL and Boston.com. He resides in Boston.



PANELISTS

Tiffany CampbellTiffany CampbellManaging Editor/Digital, WBUR

Tiffany Campbell is the managing editor for digital at WBUR, Boston's NPR news station, where she oversees a news staff of producers, writers and developers working in digital development across the station's locally and nationally distributed programs and news products.

Tiffany was previously editor of digital news at The Seattle Times, where she worked on several award-winning investigative projects and was part of the newsroom team that won a 2010 Pulitzer Prize for breaking news reporting. Before that, she spent a few years at CNN, and got a journalism degree from Western Washington University.

She has covered stories like the 2010 Winter Olympics and the 2012 Democratic and Republican National Conventions, hurricane warnings and all. Originally from Tacoma, Wash., Tiffany lives in the Boston area with her husband, Curt Woodward, who is a senior editor at business news site Xconomy. Find her online at @tiffanycampbell and linkedin.com/in/tiffanymcampbell/.

Angela NelsonAngela NelsonNews Editor, Boston.comAngela Nelson has been reporting on news, politics, and sports in the Boston area for 15 years, with most of them spent at Boston.com. She has covered crime, elections, major sporting events, international disasters, Supreme Court cases, wars, and more. A home-grown gal, Angela has lived in Massachusetts since she was six and attended journalism school at Boston University. She enjoys good stories, strong cups of coffee, delicious meals, and warm weather. On a daily basis, she (unhappily) commutes to Boston from the north, where she (happily) lives with her husband and daughter.  
Paul RobertsPaul RobertsEditor-in-Chief/Founder, The Security LedgerPaul F. Roberts is the Editor and Founder of The Security Ledger (securityledger.com), a computer security news blog covering security and The Internet of Things. Paul spent the last decade covering hacking, cyber threats and information technology security, including senior positions as a writer, editor and industry analyst. Prior to launching The Security Ledger, Paul was editor ofThreatpost.com and a Security Evangelist for Threatpost's corporate parent, Kaspersky Lab. Prior to that, he spent three years covering the enterprise IT security space as a Senior Analyst in The 451 Group'€TsEnterprise Security Practice. Paul writes and speaks frequently about trends within cyber security space. He has spoken at industry conferences, including The RSA Conference, InfoSecurity and DEFCON. His work has appeared on NPR's Marketplace Tech Report, The Economist Intelligence Unit, The Boston Globe, Salon.com, Fortune Small Business, as well as ZDNet, Computerworld, CIO , CSO and ITWorld.com. Yes, he was also a guest on The Oprah Show but that's a long story.
Jamie WallaceJamie WallaceEditor-in-Chief, Fans of Being a Mom blogJamie Wallace built her business via blogging and social media. At Suddenly Marketing she helps her clients develop standout brands, discover their most powerful stories, and transform those stories into powerful content and valuable customer relationships. Part strategist, part writer, and part cheerleader, she makes marketing fun. On a personal note, Jamie is a mom, a someday novelist, and a student of voice, karate, trapeze, and the equestrian arts (though not all at the same time). Find her at www.suddenlymarketing.com or on Twitter @suddenlyjamie .
Galen MooreGalen MooreOnline Editor, Boston Business JournalGalen Moore is the web editor at Boston Business Journal and a masters candidate at Northeastern University, studying startup incubators and accelerators. He is also a sometime volunteer on the MIT college radio and a board member at Egleston Square Main Street.Galen grew up in Oakland, Calif. and Tokyo, Japan, where he gained a good footing in Japanese and other foreign languages. He is also a licensed sea captain. Galen likes to tell stories using numbers and pictures.

Description:

Join Business Wire Boston as we explore the current trends in online media and the emergence of blogging in the Public Relations & Marketing world. We have compiled an eclectic mix of leading journalists who have moved from print to online media and influential bloggers with multitudes of followers. We’ll explore the transition from print media writing to online media, what bloggers take from your press release news, and the current trends in online, digital and interactive press releases. Learn how to get the most out of your press release and the current trends that are seen by leading journalists and bloggers.